Yesterday December 18, 2007, we had a trip to Hart. The point of the trip was for Keith to tell the Moldflow team that I would be the IT person that would be working with them. Keith explained how it was going to work, what the reason for doing it was, and so on. While up there I had a few people I wanted to talk to, we rode with Stuart and Mike, who were replacing phones. After the Moldflow meeting, everyone I needed to talk to were out to lunch, so I helped Mike and Stuart out a little. When Keith was done with his meeting with Jim, he asked where Paul sat, having to talk to Paul myself, I walked Keith over to Paul’s desk. Paul was out to lunch so we went up to the front office to wait.
After lunch, I found Paul and talked to him about Keith wanting to talk to him, and that I had some questions. So he was going to put coat at his desk and meet us in the front office. Garry who was with Paul when I found him, explained that he had not yet had a chance to meet Keith and would I introduce him. Garry explained how much he liked working with me, and how once we got past our roadblocks the program went so fast and was so much more then he had ever expected. He then left and Keith and I joked about Garry being one of the roadblocks. Garry hung around; I personal couldn’t figure it out. So Paul showed up and Garry, Paul, Keith and I talked for a minute. Paul then said “Well lets go have a seat.” Paul and Garry left I moved so Keith could go and he asked if I was coming. I asked “Am I invited?” Keith then says “I don’t have a problem talking about you in front of you.”
So we get in to the small conf. room, and Paul starts to explain why we are there. He explained that he called Keith telling him that he want to let him know what a great job I am doing. Then they talked about they wanted to do some to show me that they really appreciate what I have done, and I am still doing. Keith explained that he wanted Paul and Garry to be there to tell me how much the enjoy working with me. I could not stop smiling. I received a card wroth $50, for my great work. It was really nice not just only to hear that people appreciate my work, but it was really nice to know that Keith knows that people like my work. I am still pretty geeked about the whole thing.
Then to top it off, Scott P. sent Keith an email, without telling me, about how much he likes my work. What makes me feel so good about it all, is the fact that I didn’t send the stuff to Keith, like every one else. People have sought Keith out…. Just to tell him how much they like working with me… It really was the boost I needed.
Thursday, December 20, 2007
Thursday, December 13, 2007
Ganked up Ghetto house.
So I pull into the driveway last night to find my awning lying in the middle of my driveway. The wires from the light that use to be attached to the house, just hanging out in the rain / snow. So I drive around it, put my truck in the garage, and start to figure out what the heck I am going to do now. I know the awning has to be moved, so I get all ready to move this heavy awning, and almost throw it across the driveway.
It is crazy light. So I just drag it to the garage. Standing there looking in the garage, I realize there is no place to put it in there. So I move it over by the deck, and try to push it out of the way. As I look at it, I realize the light fixture is still attached, no damage, and the light bulb is still in it, not damaged. I now have to get out the ladder so I can cover the bare wires that are hanging out it the snow. I go in and get electrical tape, scissors and all ready and realized there is no bare wires just an open plug.
I am quite relived that it is just a plug not as much damage as I thought, it could have caused a much bigger problem if it has been wires. I get the plug all covered and start looking at how it was attached, and it was screwed in to the house in only three places, I am surprised it stayed on this long. Now my house looks like this ganked up ghetto house. They sided the house about the awning so there is now just bare wood and the wire…. It looks so bad….
Friday, November 9, 2007
Nykerk Cup
Saturday November 3, 2007 was the 2007 Nykerk Cup at the Holland Civic Center.
It was really interesting and I have to say a lot of fun. The Odd years play, and song girls were really good. Odd year’s oration I wasn’t too impressed with. I felt like she was yelling at me the whole time. Odd year’s song girls did Splish splash, and was pretty cute. Their Play was called “Out of the box” and was very creative. Even years play was really good they did Cinderella, but it had a Hope twist. It was really funny and nicely done. Their Song Girls were amazing. Their song was Annie; a group of songs from Annie is a better way to explain it. They had great movements, and sounded really good. Even year’s oration was really nice; she did a great job and really made it a personal speech.
The Even Year Nykerk Ladies did a wonderful job redeeming their class by winning the Nykerk Cup. Congratulation class of 2010.
Tuesday, October 23, 2007
Class update
Well it’s week five and my midterm is due today. I have to say it went a lot better then expected. To start off I changed what I was going to work on, I am doing the Rochester Grange0r's. After last week and my realization of new career goals, I am happy to say I am starting to understand this whole flash thing. I might not need a career change at this moment. I think I might give it a week or two ;) This class is going by WAY to fast, it is really hard to believe that is it already week 5. Check out my flickr site for my way cool logo’s.
Tuesday, October 9, 2007
Birthday

Well I have a birthday coming up here pretty quick, end of the week to be exact. Every one is making me feel like I should be panicking. You’re how old? You’re still single? I really am not all that worried about it; I don’t feel that overwhelming age feeling that everyone seems to think I should have. I don’t consider my self to be old. I figure if the whole relationship thing is going to happen it will happed, worrying about it is not going to make it any better. Would I like to be able to say I am in a relationship? Of courses I would. Am I going to get all worked up about it and do something stupid? No, I am just going to try to go with the flow, and see what happens.
So far all I am asking for is to go to the Granger game, doesn’t look like that is going to happen, the only other thing I would really like it to go see The Rocky Horror Picture Show in a theater. I saw it live two years ago and would like to see it in the theater now. This two is not likely to happen. So far no plans for the big day, Al is out of town, J has to close up for the season at the Marina, looks like it is going to be just a normal day.
Thursday, September 20, 2007
Trace Dominguez
I think this has to be the Soldier with the most publicity:
CBS Early Show Visits Mackinac
'Potter Fever' Hits Island With New, Final Series Book Out
NEWS ABOUT PEOPLE ON MACKINAC ISLAND
Fort Mackinac Hosts Music, Games, Picnic To Celebrate Freedom
77 Students Celebrate School Start with Picnic
Islanders from 'Heart of Mackinac' Read at Community Event
...and Fort Hosts All American Holiday
Interpreters Never Tire of Fielding Visitor Questions
Seems like he has been in every edition of the Town Crier this summer.
Mackinac Island Town Crier
CBS Early Show Visits Mackinac
'Potter Fever' Hits Island With New, Final Series Book Out
NEWS ABOUT PEOPLE ON MACKINAC ISLAND
Fort Mackinac Hosts Music, Games, Picnic To Celebrate Freedom
77 Students Celebrate School Start with Picnic
Islanders from 'Heart of Mackinac' Read at Community Event
...and Fort Hosts All American Holiday
Interpreters Never Tire of Fielding Visitor Questions
Seems like he has been in every edition of the Town Crier this summer.
Mackinac Island Town Crier
Sunday, September 9, 2007
Max
Tuesday, September 4, 2007
Labor Day 2007
It has been an amazing couple of days. We left Sunday September 2, 2007 at 8:00 am for Mackinac City. We arrived in Mackinac City around noon. Seeing all the people that were already there we decided to do our shopping then, so we starting looking for our bridge walk tee shirts. We went to most of the stores in the city, and ended up finding the cutest tee shirts at “Tee Shirt Brothers” they were also the cheapest. After that we went to subway and had lunch. Then off to the light house, to get pictures of the Bridge. It was an amazing clear day, at the same time it was amazingly windy. They were requiring most vehicles to cross with escorts. It was fun trying to take pictures of the Bridge while the wind is almost knocking me over. After that we went to the “Scary Bear Store” or as the name on the building calls it “The Bear Company”. It was pretty much just like ever other store up there, only real difference was it was bigger. By then it as 3:00 so we went and checked in at the Best Western, While checking in we found out that The Mackinaw Coast Guard Ship (the old one) is now a museum and was open for tours.
The Mackinaw tour was really cool, the tour includes a walk through of the building and some video clips of the Ships past. The tour takes you through many different sections of the ship. Some that really stick in my mind were the galley. It almost looks like a restaurant. The engine room that we got to see was really cool; the engines names were Jake and Elwood, after the Blues Bothers. The tour ends with a guest book and the gift shop. Then you are able to go out on the stern desk. That wasted about an hour, so we went back to the hotel.
Later we walked down to Wawatam Park, were we sat and enjoyed the view of the island and the bridge. Watched a storm roll in. Then we headed back to the hotel for a good nights rest before we had to get up at 5:00 am.
Up at 5:00 out the door at 5:30, got to the busses and there were a lot of people there. We were able to right up to the ticket booth and got our tickets. We had to wait about 15 minutes and were on a bus heading to St.Ignace. We arrived in St.Ignace around 6:00. While waiting for the walk to start, we got to see the Anniversary cake that was in St.Ignace. The longest hour of the whole trip was waiting for 7:00 am and the walk to actually start. I have to say this was the most amazing walk I have ever done. We were packed in just waiting for it to start, people as far as the eye could see in all directions. When 7:00 am finally came we were all herded out on to the Bridge. Normally when walking the bridge you can get a good stride and pace going. Not this year, there were so many people, we were walking practically touching each other the whole time. The walk took up 2 hours this year. Once we had our certificates we went and got them canceled, and our names written on them. We purchased two commemorative posters. Then decided to walk to the light house area and look at all the people walking the bridge.
On our way to the light house Julie stopped and bought us hot dogs from a local group that was selling them. I have to say best hot dog ever! Not sure if it was because I hadn’t eaten any thing yet that morning, or if it was just a really good hot dog ;). We stopped at the Colonial Michilimackinac parking lot and took pictures of all the people, there were still a ton crossing the bridge. We walked toward the light house and stopped to get shots of the swimmers coming out of the water. Oh yeah forgot to mention that, there were 50 swimmers swimming the straights as we walked. I have to say my hat is off to them there is no way I could swim in that cold and current. Rumor has it Kim the scout coordinator swam. Any way back on topic. It was really cute they would run the finish line down the shore so the swimmers didn’t have so far to go. After getting lots of pictures of the Bridge, the walkers, and the swimmers we headed down the historic pathway which takes you along the shore in the city. As we rounded around to Shepler's, we saw this line; it went long the road, around a couple of blocks and past Shepler's entrance, then down the main street to the bus stop. The line was of people who still wanted to walk, who were done walking and wanted to go back to St.Ignace. So after fighting our way back to the hotel, which required us walking in the street, not to much to worry about though, the cars were at a dead stop also. We sat in the hotel for about half hour, then went back to see that no one was moving yet. So after a little convincing, I talked Julie into going to the island. So we fought our way down to Arnold’s, made it in time for the 11:00 boat.
Once on the island we went to Seabiscuite for lunch. I have had a craving for Sabisuite for some time now. Great lunch, bummed that Kevin wasn’t working, but didn’t really think he would be. After lunch we hit all the great shops. Peace Frogs, Caddywampus, Great Turtle Toys, The Big Store, and the Trading Post. I had to get a picture of the rocking chair outside of Caddywampus and Main Street Inn and Suites for mom. Alison wanted some fudge so we went to Ryba’s, and got fudge, chocolate covers strawberries. So once we got our to do list done we went and sat in Marquette Park for a while. We also saw Herman the street cleaner that was on Dirty Jobs. After we sat in the Park for a while we then walked down Market and up Cadotte, not really with any destination in mind just out for a walk. We then went into the other Great Turtle Toys and down Mahoney to the Grand Hotel Outlet. Great Store, not really sure how I would get most of the stuff home from there. We then just finished down Mahoney and walked down the board walk, where we ended up just sitting and enjoying the view for a while. It was really great weather and a wonderful day. We started getting hot and thirsty so we walked down to Doud’s got a couple of bottles of water, then we were off to the dock to head back to the mainland.
Even though we were only there from 11:30 to 2:30 it was so refreshing; my chi is now inline. Well it was. We got back checked out and were on the road by 3:30. The drive home was decent for the most part. Lots of traffic, so going at times. We made it home by 8:00.
Over all a great weekend, I can’t wait to get back up there.
The Mackinaw tour was really cool, the tour includes a walk through of the building and some video clips of the Ships past. The tour takes you through many different sections of the ship. Some that really stick in my mind were the galley. It almost looks like a restaurant. The engine room that we got to see was really cool; the engines names were Jake and Elwood, after the Blues Bothers. The tour ends with a guest book and the gift shop. Then you are able to go out on the stern desk. That wasted about an hour, so we went back to the hotel.
Later we walked down to Wawatam Park, were we sat and enjoyed the view of the island and the bridge. Watched a storm roll in. Then we headed back to the hotel for a good nights rest before we had to get up at 5:00 am.
Up at 5:00 out the door at 5:30, got to the busses and there were a lot of people there. We were able to right up to the ticket booth and got our tickets. We had to wait about 15 minutes and were on a bus heading to St.Ignace. We arrived in St.Ignace around 6:00. While waiting for the walk to start, we got to see the Anniversary cake that was in St.Ignace. The longest hour of the whole trip was waiting for 7:00 am and the walk to actually start. I have to say this was the most amazing walk I have ever done. We were packed in just waiting for it to start, people as far as the eye could see in all directions. When 7:00 am finally came we were all herded out on to the Bridge. Normally when walking the bridge you can get a good stride and pace going. Not this year, there were so many people, we were walking practically touching each other the whole time. The walk took up 2 hours this year. Once we had our certificates we went and got them canceled, and our names written on them. We purchased two commemorative posters. Then decided to walk to the light house area and look at all the people walking the bridge.
On our way to the light house Julie stopped and bought us hot dogs from a local group that was selling them. I have to say best hot dog ever! Not sure if it was because I hadn’t eaten any thing yet that morning, or if it was just a really good hot dog ;). We stopped at the Colonial Michilimackinac parking lot and took pictures of all the people, there were still a ton crossing the bridge. We walked toward the light house and stopped to get shots of the swimmers coming out of the water. Oh yeah forgot to mention that, there were 50 swimmers swimming the straights as we walked. I have to say my hat is off to them there is no way I could swim in that cold and current. Rumor has it Kim the scout coordinator swam. Any way back on topic. It was really cute they would run the finish line down the shore so the swimmers didn’t have so far to go. After getting lots of pictures of the Bridge, the walkers, and the swimmers we headed down the historic pathway which takes you along the shore in the city. As we rounded around to Shepler's, we saw this line; it went long the road, around a couple of blocks and past Shepler's entrance, then down the main street to the bus stop. The line was of people who still wanted to walk, who were done walking and wanted to go back to St.Ignace. So after fighting our way back to the hotel, which required us walking in the street, not to much to worry about though, the cars were at a dead stop also. We sat in the hotel for about half hour, then went back to see that no one was moving yet. So after a little convincing, I talked Julie into going to the island. So we fought our way down to Arnold’s, made it in time for the 11:00 boat.
Once on the island we went to Seabiscuite for lunch. I have had a craving for Sabisuite for some time now. Great lunch, bummed that Kevin wasn’t working, but didn’t really think he would be. After lunch we hit all the great shops. Peace Frogs, Caddywampus, Great Turtle Toys, The Big Store, and the Trading Post. I had to get a picture of the rocking chair outside of Caddywampus and Main Street Inn and Suites for mom. Alison wanted some fudge so we went to Ryba’s, and got fudge, chocolate covers strawberries. So once we got our to do list done we went and sat in Marquette Park for a while. We also saw Herman the street cleaner that was on Dirty Jobs. After we sat in the Park for a while we then walked down Market and up Cadotte, not really with any destination in mind just out for a walk. We then went into the other Great Turtle Toys and down Mahoney to the Grand Hotel Outlet. Great Store, not really sure how I would get most of the stuff home from there. We then just finished down Mahoney and walked down the board walk, where we ended up just sitting and enjoying the view for a while. It was really great weather and a wonderful day. We started getting hot and thirsty so we walked down to Doud’s got a couple of bottles of water, then we were off to the dock to head back to the mainland.
Even though we were only there from 11:30 to 2:30 it was so refreshing; my chi is now inline. Well it was. We got back checked out and were on the road by 3:30. The drive home was decent for the most part. Lots of traffic, so going at times. We made it home by 8:00.
Over all a great weekend, I can’t wait to get back up there.
Tuesday, August 28, 2007
Dirty Jobs

As I sit and watch one of the best shows in the world (Dirty Jobs). I see the place I truly miss and can’t wait to get back to, Mackinac Island. To dramatic? Any way, Mike got to visit Mackinac and help do some dirty jobs. He shoveled poo, Brought horses to the stables and helped create compost. Great job Mike.
Monday, August 13, 2007
Home renovations
So I pick the worst weekend to get serious about getting some of the home renovations I have been working on done. I am and was so sick all weekend, which makes stripping paint and scraping floors lots of fun. However, I did get around the front door all striped. With a few miner injures, I burnt my left hand twice, my right hand once and my chest..... Yes my chest once. I only have to sand and repaint it now. I also got a good size spot on the kitchen floor done. Not nearly as much as I was hoping to get done… but for as crappy as I felt I think I made a good size dent.
Thursday, August 9, 2007
Late for Work because of a Rainbow
As I tell my boss why I am late for, work I realize how lame it sounds. The conversation went something like this.
Me: Sorry I’m Late.
Boss: Why are you late?
Me: I was chasing a rainbow.
Boss: Rainbow?
Me: Yeah I was down at the Lake this morning and there was a beautiful rainbow over the lake so I drive around the ovals to get some pictures of it.
Boss: Rainbow! ....... Ok. (As he shakes his head)
Pretty sure any thought he had of me being a little weird has just been confirmed.
But here is a pic of the beautiful rainbow I saw this morning.


Me: Sorry I’m Late.
Boss: Why are you late?
Me: I was chasing a rainbow.
Boss: Rainbow?
Me: Yeah I was down at the Lake this morning and there was a beautiful rainbow over the lake so I drive around the ovals to get some pictures of it.
Boss: Rainbow! ....... Ok. (As he shakes his head)
Pretty sure any thought he had of me being a little weird has just been confirmed.
But here is a pic of the beautiful rainbow I saw this morning.
Tuesday, June 26, 2007
Ashamed
As of yesterday June 25, 2007 at 11:15am, I am ashamed to admit I live in the city of Muskegon. Even more so, I am ashamed to admit that I voted to put the some of the idiots that are running this city into office. I hear “Beautiful Downtown Muskegon” of which there is no downtown. When our true slogan should be “Muskegon Destroys History”. After watching destruction the Montgomery / Sieradzki house, I have no faith in our city commission, or the smucks that are on it. I could so easily start personally attacking each and everyone of them, but what good will that do? It will not bring back the treasure Muskegon lost. We all have our views on who dropped the ball, was it Scott for trying to save the house, and was it the city for the demolishing it? In the end it all comes back to city, How hard did they work to save Hackley house? How much money has been put into refinishing the Scolnik House? Yet they were not willing to give Scott Sieradzki a change to refinish the Montgomery / Sieradszki house. All I can say is I am sorry Scott Sieradzki that you had to be treated this way. To the whole Sieradzki family my deepest condolences go out to you. There is no way the simple words “I am sorry” can ever fix the damage this city has done to you. Just know that there are so many of us in this city that will not forget this come election time, and so many of us who supported you all the way.
I have to admit I fear for my own home if this is how a good man who was trying to save his family home is treated, what lies a head for the rest of us? I just cannot seem to shake the feeling that this city is doomed.
I am looking for help to find house plans for the Montgomery / Sieradszki house, So any one with any information please contact me
Sieradzki for Mayor
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
